Situations that result in a FAIL grade on the Class E Knowledge Exam (Learner's Permit Exam)

Situations that result in a FAIL grade on the Class E Knowledge Exam (Learner's Permit Exam)

Please read over the situations that could result in failing your Class E Knowledge Exam online.

1. Failed Too Many Questions

You need to get 40 out of 50 questions correct to pass the exam with an 80%. Once you move from one question to the next, you cannot go back to the previous question and change your answer. The FLHSMV system grades your answers as you go. If you fail too many questions where there is no longer any possibility of you scoring an 80%, you will be kicked out of the test with a failing grade. 

2. Exceeded Time Limit / Timed Out

You have 60 minutes (1 hour) to answer 50 questions. If you reach the time limit before finishing the exam, your test will be timed out and counted as a failed exam. 

3. Disconnected from the Test

If you leave the test once it has started (intentionally or accidentally), the FLHSMV has an automatic function in place to end the exam to prevent cheating. 

Unfortunately, this means that you can be timed out of the exam during these situations:
  1. You close the browser window or tab that the test is in
  2. You open another tab or window in your browser
  3. You lose access to internet
  4. You lose electricity or your computer is unplugged
  5. You remain on a single test question for multiple minutes without advancing
If you are timed out, it still counts as one of your test attempts and a new test will need to be purchased and re-taken.



    • Related Articles

    • Florida Learner's Permit Exam (Class E Knowledge Exam) FAQ

      1. What’s on the Florida Learners Permit Test? – Traffic Signs and Road Rules – Vehicle Requirements – Occupant Protection Laws – Techniques for Driving Safely 2. How do I study for the test? The Florida Learners Permit Exam is based on the Florida ...
    • How do I get my Florida learner's permit?

      FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This information is to assist new drivers in the State of Florida. Teens/Under 18 To qualify for a Learner’s Permit you must meet the following criteria: Be over 15 years of age Completed the TLSAE Course Completed the Learner's ...
    • I took my learner's permit exam and need my S number

      FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This applies to anyone who took the Florida learner's permit exam and passed it. Make sure that you completed the learner's permit exam. Some people mistake the completion exam at the end of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse ...
    • I bought the learner's permit exam but it won't let me take it

      FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This applies to anyone who is attempting to take the Florida Learner's Permit Exam. It says "Unable to Verify Eligibility" when I try to start the test. There are several instances where the State of Florida does not allow you to ...
    • How do I take my learner's permit exam online?

      Step 1: Purchase the Class E Knowledge Exam (Learner's Permit Exam). You can buy the exam by itself or as part of a teen learner's permit bundle.  Step 2: Once you complete the account creation process and/or make your payment, you will be taken to ...