1. What’s on the Florida Learners Permit Test?
– Traffic Signs and Road Rules
– Vehicle Requirements
– Occupant Protection Laws
– Techniques for Driving Safely
2. How do I study for the test?
The Florida Learners Permit Exam is based on the Florida drivers handbook, not the Drug & Alcohol Course (TLSAE). We have created two of the best preparation tools on the market to help you study:
– The Florida Drivers Handbook Course
– The Florida Drivers License Practice Test
3. Can I take the test online?
Only drivers between the ages of 14-1/2 and 17 years old can take the Florida Learners Permit Test online with us
. If you are 18 years old or older, then you must take the test in-person at the DMV. Click here to find a local DMV so you can schedule an in-person appointment. You can also call (850) 617-2000.
4. Is there a time limit to take the test?
Yes. You have one (1) hour to answer 50 questions.
5. How many questions do I need to get right?
You need to get 40 out of 50 questions correct to pass the exam (80%).
6. What do I do after I pass the test?
After you’ve passed both the TLSAE and permit test, then you can go to the DMV to get your permit!
7. Can I go to the DMV right after I pass the test to get my license?
We submit your results instantly, but the DMV recommends waiting 24-72 hours for it to update in their state system.
8. I passed my permit test, but I don’t see my certificate.
No certificate is given or needed because we submit your results automatically to the DMV’s system.
9. What happens if I don’t pass on my first try?
Unfortunately, you will have to buy the test again and take it again. You only have a maximum of three (3) total attempts to take the test online or in-person. If you fail three times, then you must take any other attempts in-person at the DMV. To avoid failure, consider taking our Florida Drivers Handbook Course and Practice Test!
10. What happens if I close my browser by accident during the exam?
Unfortunately, you fail the test. This counts as one failed attempt. You must buy the test again.
11. Are you guys approved by the DMV?
Yes! Too Cool Traffic School is 100% approved by the Florida DMV and by the state of Florida.
12. Is the Florida Learners Permit Test available in Spanish?
13. What are the different names for the Permit Test?
The Florida Learners Permit Test is also known as the DMV Exam and the Class E Knowledge Exam. These are all the same and classified as the official permit test.
14. What is the price of the exam?
The price is $29.99. However, by purchasing our Teen Bundle or Adult Bundle, you can get everything you need to get your permit at the lowest price possible! Tax is included in the price and there are NO HIDDEN FEES! (Please note: Adults (18+ years) must take the permit test in-person at the DMV)
15. How do I sign up?
16. I do not have a social security number! Can I take the exam online?
Yes. If you do not have a social security number (SSN), you can use your i94 number. It is 11 digits. When registering for the learner’s permit exam, be sure to include the space.
1. It says I’m ineligible to take the learner’s permit test. What went wrong?
If you are not eligible to take the test online, please submit a ticket
and we will issue a refund for your purchase of the exam.
There are several instances where the State of Florida does not allow you to take the learner’s permit exam.
- If you are 18 or over, you must take the test in person at the DMV.
- If you have taken the learner’s permit test a total of three times (in person or online) then you must take the test in person at the DMV for any future attempts.
- You are between 14 ½ and 17 and have 15 unexcused school absences in 90 days. In this case, you will not be able to take the learner’s permit test or get your learner’s permit until you attend school for 30 days in a row with no unexcused absences or turn 18 and your school attendance office completes a License Reinstatement Form and sends it to the FLHSMV in Tallahassee.
- Your information (Name/Date of Birth/Last 5 of SSN) doesn’t match what is in the State of Florida system.
If you have taken and passed the permit exam over 1 year ago and never obtained a permit, the State of Florida requires you to take the test again at the DMV. You will not be able to take it online.
2. I’m at the DMV and they can’t find a record for my test. What should I do?
Provide the clerk with the “S” number that we provide you with on your account dashboard.
NOTE: The test at the end of the Drug and Alcohol Course is NOT the State Exam. Please be sure that you purchased and completed the official state exam.