How old do I need to be to take the 24hr teen driver's ed course in Ohio?

How old do I need to be to take the 24hr teen driver's ed course in Ohio?

Per the Ohio State Statutes (Rule 4501-7-09 (A)(1) | Driver education), "No student will be accepted for driver education before attaining the age of fifteen years and five months without approval from the director." 

With this in mind:
  • As long as the student is at least 15 and 5 months, they can enroll and begin taking our online driver's ed program.
  • When they are 15 years and 6 months, they can go to a driver exam station to take the knowledge and vision screening to begin the temporary permit process (Learn more). 
As far as preparation before the knowledge exam at the BMV, there is no established suggested amount of course time to have completed. However, taking as much of the course as possible will only help! We suggest that students utilize the unlimited permit practice tests that are included in the course bundle, since they are designed to help prepare you for the learner's permit exam.

Students can practice with the unlimited permit exam even if they are under 15 and 5 months, but will not be able to begin the full driver's ed program until they are 15 and 5 months.



    • Related Articles

    • How do I pass the Ohio 24hr Teen Driver's Ed course?

      OHIO EXCLUSIVE: This applies to anyone under 18 in Ohio who is taking the 24 hour driver's ed course to meet their driver's license requirements. You MUST spend at least 24 hours in the course. The State of Ohio requires that you spend a minimum of ...
    • How do I start my Ohio 24hr Teen Driver's Ed course?

      OHIO EXCLUSIVE: This applies to any student who has registered for the teen driver's ed course for Ohio, but hasn't started the course yet. Step 1: View the Dashboard After you log in, you will be taken to your account dashboard where you will see ...
    • How do I get my Ohio driver's license? (Teen)

      OHIO EXCLUSIVE: This is for teens (15 years and 5 months - 17 years old) in Ohio that are getting their driver's license. Step 1: Complete the Education Requirements Enroll in the 24 hour Driver Ed Course (Age must be at least 15 years, 5 months) ...
    • Ohio Driver Training Certificates

      Ohio Teen Drivers Ed/Driver Training Certificates (see below) STARTING MAY 1, 2022 pursuant 4501-7-01-H, you can now download your completion certificate on your account after completing your "Ohio 24 Hr Drivers Ed Online Course". Enrollment ...
    • Ohio 24 Hr Drivers Ed Online Course Digital Certificates

      STARTING MAY 1, 2022 pursuant 4501-7-01-H, you can now download your completion certificate on your account after completing your "Ohio 24 Hr Drivers Ed Online Course". Enrollment Certificates have been discontinued and we will no longer be issuing ...