How do I get my Florida learner's permit?

How do I get my Florida learner's permit?

FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This information is to assist new drivers in the State of Florida.

Teens/Under 18

To qualify for a Learner’s Permit you must meet the following criteria:
  1. Be over 15 years of age
  2. Completed the TLSAE Course
  3. Completed the Learner's Permit Exam 
  4. Have the consent of your parent or legal guardian
  5. Pass a vision and hearing test at the DMV
AgeStep #1Step #2Step #3Step #4Step #5Result
At least 15 years oldComplete our traffic law & substance abuse course REGISTER NOWReview the Florida Driver's Handbook Course REGISTER NOWTake the Class E Knowledge exam (Permit Test) REGISTER NOWHave a signed consent formMake an appointment with the DMVGet Learner's permit.



After having a learner's permit for one year, teens can upgrade their permit into an intermediate license. 

AgeStep #1Step #2Step #3Step #4Step #5Result
16-17 years oldHold a learner's permit for 1 yearGain supervised driving experienceCertify that you have 50 hrs behind the wheel (with 10 hrs at night)Take the driving skills test or present a waiver from an accepted drivers ed courseMake an appointment with the DMVGet Intermediate License
With an intermediate license, you can drive without an adult. On your 18th birthday, the intermediate license will automatically update to a full Class E Driver's License. You do not need to go to the DMV to update it.


Adults 18+

AgeStep #1Step #2Step #3Step #4Step #5Result
18 years or olderComplete our traffic law & substance abuse course REGISTER NOWReview the Florida Driver's HandbookTake the Class E Knowledge exam (must complete at DMV)Take the driving skills test or present a waiver from an accepted drivers ed courseMake an appointment with the DMVClass E Driver's License


    • Related Articles

    • How do I get my Ohio driver's license? (Teen)

      OHIO EXCLUSIVE: This is for teens (15 years and 5 months - 17 years old) in Ohio that are getting their driver's license. Step 1: Complete the Education Requirements Enroll in the 24 hour Driver Ed Course (Age must be at least 15 years, 5 months) ...
    • I bought the learner's permit exam but it won't let me take it

      FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This applies to anyone who is attempting to take the Florida Learner's Permit Exam. It says "Unable to Verify Eligibility" when I try to start the test. There are several instances where the State of Florida does not allow you to ...
    • I took my learner's permit exam and need my S number

      FLORIDA EXCLUSIVE: This applies to anyone who took the Florida learner's permit exam and passed it. Make sure that you completed the learner's permit exam. Some people mistake the completion exam at the end of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse ...
    • How do I get my Ohio driver's license? (Adult)

      OHIO EXCLUSIVE: This is for adults (18+ years old) in Ohio that are getting their driver's license. Step 1: Take the Temps Test As soon as you're ready, you can take the knowledge exam to get your Temps (TIPIC/Temporary Permit) at the BMV.  To do ...
    • Florida Learner's Permit Exam (Class E Knowledge Exam)

      1. What’s on the Florida Learners Permit Test? – Traffic Signs and Road Rules – Vehicle Requirements – Occupant Protection Laws – Techniques for Driving Safely 2. How do I study for the test? The Florida Learners Permit Exam is based on the Florida ...